football player number 7 half body holding the ball staying in the stadium

Highlights of the NFL Awards 2021

The NFL Awards 2021 were held on February 6th, 2021, and as always, there was much anticipation leading up to the coveted awards.  The awards took place at the YouTube Theater at the SoFi Entertainment District in Los Angeles and were in front of a masked-up limited audience due to the threat of the COVID-19 pandemic.  We have every hope that the 2022 NFL Awards will take place as normal. 

The National Football League awards are always an exciting occasion and are decided by a six-member panel who put together a selection of athletes to win the biggest NFL awards.  Every award has a top five ballot attached to it and each ballot gets five points for a first-place position, four for a second-place position, three for a third-place position, two for a fourth-place position and one for fifth place. It is a very fair system and one that has been in use by the NFL Awards for many years. 

The NFL Awards 2021 – MVP 

two American football players, number 11 and 99 in the golden background

The panel of voters included the following notable people from the NFL, Albert Breer, Conor Orr, Michael Rosenberg, Andrew Brandt, Gary Gramling and Mitch Goldrich.  For the winner of MVP, there was some conflict between the voting panel, and it was not a unanimous decision.  Aaron Rodgers came first in the vote with 29 points, followed by Tom Brady with 22 points, Joe Burrow in fourth with 15 points and fourth, Cooper Kupp, tailed by Dak Prescott coming in fifth.  This award was the fourth in Rodgers football career and despite a slow start to the season, he played brilliantly well for the rest of the season. Interestingly, there were more quarterbacks in the MVP list of awards winners and nominees than usual. 

two flags near each other, one is Americas flag and the other is NFLs flag

NFL Awards 2021 Offensive Player of the Year 

This award is always a tough call – especially making a firm decision with who to award first between Taylor and Kupp.  The voting panel eventually decided to give it to Cooper Kupp.  The wide receiver came close for single season records and yards, these weren’t quite brand-new records, but he still had a great season.  Coming in a firm second (and really, almost first), Taylor finished with some 500 rushing yards more than any other player.  One of the panel felt that Aaron Rodgers should have won this award, as an offensive player – but it wasn’t enough to give him the coveted title NFL Awards 2021 Offensive Player of the Year.  Coming in third was Mark Andrews, fourth Davante Adams and fifth, Trent Williams. 

NFL Awards 2021 – Defensive Player of the Year 

Another close-call for this title, Defensive Player of the Year went to TJ Watts, followed by Micah Parsons.  Watts won due to his week 18 achievement of tying up the single-season sack record.  Aaron Donald deserved third place, with 18 points and really as he’s won the title a few times before it was only fair to give it to someone else!  Coming in fourth was Myles Garrett and fifth, Darius Leonard. 

a golden trophy  with stars on it and NFL writing on it

NFL Awards 2021 – Offensive Rookie of the Year 

Ja’Marr Chase won this by a landslide collecting 30 points from the voting panel and followed by Mac Jones with 23 points.  Without doubt, Jones deserved a mention as he did lead the race for much of the NFL season, but Chase soon caught him up and left him behind with 81 catches, 1,455 yards.  Without doubt he was well deserving of the title and while there were some great other newcomers this season, he earned it!  Rashawn Slater came in third, followed by Jaylen Waddle and in at fifth was Creed Humphrey. 

NFL Awards 2021 Defensive Rookie of the Year

This award went to Micah Parsons (30 points) followed in second place by Patrick Surtain (24 points).  This wasn’t particularly difficult to choose from as Patrick Surtain by far outshone everyone else on the list.  All six members of the voting panel voted Surtain in second.  Odafe Oweh came third, Christian Barmore came third and in at fifth was outstanding player, Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah. 

Here are the winners of the other awards: 

Comeback Player of the Year, Joe Burrow 

 a man standing with blue coat a nd tie while having speech

Coach of the Year – Mike Vrabel 

a man winning the price coact of the year and his award in his hand


To find out more about the National Football League Awards 2021, you can click on the official weblink here:  


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *